XFileSharing Pro - Adding servers

Message
Author
th3hotcake
Posts: 51
Joined: Apr 07, 2009 7:24 pm

Adding servers

#1 Postby th3hotcake » Apr 08, 2009 8:11 am

Hi,

I have been wondering, how does adding another server work? If you have three servers, for example, do they start being used when 1 and 2 fill up, or how does that work?

Ideally, I'd like to be able to show users which servers are under how much load and let them choose which one to download from. Or let something choose automatically.

My other question is: do you have to have the CGI-BIN enabled and can you run an additional server from just an IP and not a domain? (I.E. http://1.2.3.4/cgi-bin/ instead of http://www.myhost.com/cgi-bin/)

Regards,
th3hotcake

User avatar
PilgrimX182
Posts: 2186
Joined: Mar 22, 2006 1:39 pm

#2 Postby PilgrimX182 » Apr 08, 2009 12:36 pm

We use server with free space in round-robin order in upload form.

Yes, you can use IP for file servers no problems.

th3hotcake
Posts: 51
Joined: Apr 07, 2009 7:24 pm

#3 Postby th3hotcake » Apr 19, 2009 3:59 pm

File Server tests:
api.cgi: OK
temp dir exist: OK
temp dir mkdir: OK
temp dir rmdir: OK
tmp dir exist: ERROR
tmp dir mkdir: ERROR
tmp dir rmdir: ERROR
upload dir exist: OK
upload dir mkdir: OK
upload dir rmdir: OK
htdocs dir exist: ERROR
htdocs dir mkdir: ERROR
htdocs dir symlink: ERROR
htdocs dir symlink del: ERROR
htdocs dir rmdir: ERROR
config read: OK
config write: OK
fs.cgi: OK
upload.cgi: OK
htdocs URL accessibility: OK




What do I need to do? I uploaded the full htdocs directory to: /var/www/htdocs/ just like it said to.

th3hotcake
Posts: 51
Joined: Apr 07, 2009 7:24 pm

#4 Postby th3hotcake » Apr 19, 2009 5:15 pm

Okay I did some hardcore search and found out that I can change settings through the XFSConfig.pm file.

So the server is up and running, but I have a serious issue.

When premium-users generate links from my new server, they can copy those links and give them to other people or upload them remote to some other website. Download is not limited to just their IP.

With my main server this is not possible. How do I fix this?

Thanks

User avatar
PilgrimX182
Posts: 2186
Joined: Mar 22, 2006 1:39 pm

#5 Postby PilgrimX182 » Apr 19, 2009 10:36 pm

Make sure you have .htaccess file in generated temp folder and make sure .htaccess files are supporting there. Also mod_rewrite required to limit download IP.

th3hotcake
Posts: 51
Joined: Apr 07, 2009 7:24 pm

#6 Postby th3hotcake » Apr 20, 2009 6:36 am

Thanks, looks like I got mod_rewrite on and working. Download is now limited to IP.

Exactly which temp folder is supposed to have an .htaccess file? Neither /cgi-bin/temp/ or /htdocs/tmp/ have an .htaccess in them? There is one in /htdocs/ though.

Do I need all of these modules installed on my File Server?

LWP, DBI, DBD::mysql
GD lib, GD perl module

Everything seems to work without it so far.

User avatar
PilgrimX182
Posts: 2186
Joined: Mar 22, 2006 1:39 pm

#7 Postby PilgrimX182 » Apr 20, 2009 7:06 am

I was talking bout temp subfolders in htdocs/files/
But since you've fixed mod_rewrite it's allright then.

th3hotcake
Posts: 51
Joined: Apr 07, 2009 7:24 pm

#8 Postby th3hotcake » Apr 21, 2009 7:21 am

Thanks so much, got it all working right.