XUpload - StopUpload() and IE

Message
Author
hanji
Posts: 36
Joined: Nov 10, 2006 3:33 am

StopUpload() and IE

#1 Postby hanji » Nov 10, 2006 3:41 am

Hello

I'm running into a weird problem where the StopUpload() method is not stopping the upload process. I'm only seeing this in IE browser. Firefox works fine.. of course.

Drilling down to the xstatus.js file, I'm seeing the following code:

Code: Select all

window.document.execCommand('Stop');
op.frames['upload'].document.execCommand('Stop');
This should totally work, but doesn't. I'm using the progress bar in 'inline' mode. I even provided a toolbar and the 'stop' button on the browser does not stop the upload.

It almost appears to stop, the progress goes away, then starts again and continues till the file is uploaded to the server.

I'm wondering if this could be a new 'feature' in IE.. that breaks the execCommand('Stop') functionality??

My browser version is:

Code: Select all

Version: 6.0.2900.2180.xpsp_sp2_gdr.050301-1519
Any assistance is greatly appreciated.

Thanks!
hanji

hanji
Posts: 36
Joined: Nov 10, 2006 3:33 am

#2 Postby hanji » Nov 10, 2006 3:59 am

I'm kinda thinking it's related to the parent. My upload form is in a popup, and the progress bar (using hitech theme) is inline. I can't even do a window.close() or window.parent.document.close(). I'm thinking I'm not interacting with the parent window where the inline progress bar spawned on.. any ideas??

Thanks!
hanji

User avatar
PilgrimX182
Posts: 2186
Joined: Mar 22, 2006 1:39 pm

#3 Postby PilgrimX182 » Nov 10, 2006 6:24 am

Hmm...strange...probably you're getting JS error when trying to Stop. Turn on JS errors notifications in IE. Also try to Stop on our official demo: http://www.sibsoft.net/xupload
Stop button is hidded in inline2 mode, just scroll down with mouse scrollbutton for it (should be fixed :)

I've just tryied in IE and it's working fine for me. My IE is 6.0.2800.

hanji
Posts: 36
Joined: Nov 10, 2006 3:33 am

#4 Postby hanji » Nov 10, 2006 2:31 pm

Hello

Thanks for the reply. I do not get a javascript error. I have notifications turned on. The demo you have has the progress in a pop-up window. Mine is inline.. I think there is where the problem lies, since I need to affect the parent below the iframe. I'm hoping we can get this solved.

Thanks!
hanji

User avatar
PilgrimX182
Posts: 2186
Joined: Mar 22, 2006 1:39 pm

#5 Postby PilgrimX182 » Nov 13, 2006 7:10 am

hanji, try this demo, it have all 3 modes: http://www.sibsoft.net/upload_form_pro.html

Can you PM me the URL to your upload_form.html to take a look.
And what's your current XUpload version?

hanji
Posts: 36
Joined: Nov 10, 2006 3:33 am

#6 Postby hanji » Nov 13, 2006 2:07 pm

Hello

The demo works fine. I think the problem is the my upload form is a pop-up to start with. The solution I was able to implement is to do a location.reload(true); on the parent. This stopped the upload.

I wish I can send you a URL but this is an intranet application and is not accessible to the outside.

My version ins Xupload-2.5 pro.

Thanks!
hanji

User avatar
PilgrimX182
Posts: 2186
Joined: Mar 22, 2006 1:39 pm

#7 Postby PilgrimX182 » Nov 13, 2006 2:14 pm

But there's NO Pro 2.5 version! There's Pro2.3 and there's Free2.5 versions, but Free version don't have Stop button.
Man, it looks you came from future :)

If you have Pro2.2 version, you can upgrade to 2.3 for free now.

hanji
Posts: 36
Joined: Nov 10, 2006 3:33 am

#8 Postby hanji » Nov 13, 2006 2:25 pm

Whoa! That certainly is weird. Here is what's in my directory:

Code: Select all

drwxr-xr-x  6 hanji users    520 Sep 25 13:04 XUpload-2.5
-rw-r--r--  1 hanji users  174080 Sep 26 13:35 XUpload-2.5.tar.gz
-rw-r--r--  1 hanji users   65075 Sep 25 12:56 xupload_pro.zip
hanji

hanji
Posts: 36
Joined: Nov 10, 2006 3:33 am

#9 Postby hanji » Nov 13, 2006 2:29 pm

I understand now. My pro version is 2.2. Where can I download the 2.3 version?
XUpload script installation (version Pro 2.2 14-Sept-2006)
Thanks!
hanji

User avatar
PilgrimX182
Posts: 2186
Joined: Mar 22, 2006 1:39 pm

#10 Postby PilgrimX182 » Nov 14, 2006 6:12 am


hanji
Posts: 36
Joined: Nov 10, 2006 3:33 am

#11 Postby hanji » Nov 14, 2006 9:35 pm

This problem has been corrected with XUploadPro-2.3.

Thanks!
hanji

hanji
Posts: 36
Joined: Nov 10, 2006 3:33 am

#12 Postby hanji » Nov 14, 2006 9:55 pm

I found another bug related to this. If you cancel an upload and try another upload without refreshing the screen.. the inline progress bar won't display on upload.

I'm able to reproduce this on the demo:
http://www.sibsoft.net/upload_form_pro.html

1. Browse and select file
2. Check 'Show upload status on this page'
3. Click Upload File
4. Click Stop Upload

you'll be presented with the form. Either change the file or try uploading the file again.

The progress bar overlay will not appears. If will if you hit refresh or F5 before you try the upload again.

hanji

User avatar
PilgrimX182
Posts: 2186
Joined: Mar 22, 2006 1:39 pm

#13 Postby PilgrimX182 » Nov 15, 2006 7:21 am

That was the bug. Fixed. Sent you fixed files via e-mail.
Thank you!

hanji
Posts: 36
Joined: Nov 10, 2006 3:33 am

#14 Postby hanji » Nov 15, 2006 4:49 pm

Hello Again

This fix has been confirmed on my end.

Thanks again!
hanji

romeo
Posts: 2
Joined: Nov 24, 2006 4:49 pm

#15 Postby romeo » Nov 24, 2006 4:58 pm

hanji wrote:I found another bug related to this. If you cancel an upload and try another upload without refreshing the screen.. the inline progress bar won't display on upload.

I'm able to reproduce this on the demo:
http://www.sibsoft.net/upload_form_pro.html

1. Browse and select file
2. Check 'Show upload status on this page'
3. Click Upload File
4. Click Stop Upload

you'll be presented with the form. Either change the file or try uploading the file again.

The progress bar overlay will not appears. If will if you hit refresh or F5 before you try the upload again.

hanji
It will be very appreciated to get the fixed files for this problem.

Thanks in advance