XUpload - write comment onto a txt file after upload is done

Message
Author
drumcritic
Posts: 15
Joined: Apr 06, 2007 3:14 am

write comment onto a txt file after upload is done

#1 Postby drumcritic » Apr 06, 2007 3:17 am

is it possible to write the comment that the user inputed in the submit form onto a txt file after the upload transfer is complete?

User avatar
PilgrimX182
Posts: 2186
Joined: Mar 22, 2006 1:39 pm

#2 Postby PilgrimX182 » Apr 06, 2007 6:21 am

Sure. Here goes quick hack to create Filename.txt text file with comment string inside:

in upload.cgi add this code after "&SaveFile(....);"

Code: Select all

   open(FILE,">$c->{target_dir}/$fhash{file_name}.txt");
   print FILE $fhash{file_descr};
   close FILE;

drumcritic
Posts: 15
Joined: Apr 06, 2007 3:14 am

#3 Postby drumcritic » Apr 07, 2007 9:36 pm

is the variable 'file_descr' an already assigned variable? if so, where was the value assigned? I want to know because I want to write other input fields into the text file as well.

User avatar
PilgrimX182
Posts: 2186
Joined: Mar 22, 2006 1:39 pm

#4 Postby PilgrimX182 » Apr 09, 2007 5:25 am

Value assigned inb this line above:

Code: Select all

$fhash{file_descr} = $cg->param("$k\_descr");
where $k is file field name

drumcritic
Posts: 15
Joined: Apr 06, 2007 3:14 am

#5 Postby drumcritic » Apr 15, 2007 12:59 am

um... I added the 3 lines of code to upload.cgi and now when I try to upload, the upload status window says "transfer complete!" without even uploading it and the parent window says "Internal Server Error".
help!

User avatar
PilgrimX182
Posts: 2186
Joined: Mar 22, 2006 1:39 pm

#6 Postby PilgrimX182 » Apr 16, 2007 5:35 am

You have error in upload.cgi. Check out your Apache logs for details. I think it's cause you edited it in some windows editor and saved file with windows linebreaks.

Read http://www.sibsoft.net/forum/read-this- ... k-t84.html, number 3.

drumcritic
Posts: 15
Joined: Apr 06, 2007 3:14 am

#7 Postby drumcritic » Apr 19, 2007 9:45 pm

when I try to run "newline.exe" the dos window opens for a split second and then closes. what am I doing wrong?

User avatar
PilgrimX182
Posts: 2186
Joined: Mar 22, 2006 1:39 pm

#8 Postby PilgrimX182 » Apr 20, 2007 6:31 am

Ok. I've made special online tool for this: http://sibsoft.net/cgi-bin/Tools/nl.cgi
Just select your target file and click the button

drumcritic
Posts: 15
Joined: Apr 06, 2007 3:14 am

#9 Postby drumcritic » Apr 21, 2007 10:45 pm

um... it still doesn't work :p
the newline works when I don't put in the 3 lines of code but it doesn't work once i put in the code.
do I just need "newline" or do I also need to do a "detab" as well? cause all of the win32 dos programs don't work :p

User avatar
PilgrimX182
Posts: 2186
Joined: Mar 22, 2006 1:39 pm

#10 Postby PilgrimX182 » Apr 23, 2007 6:06 am

Then the error is inside upload.cgi code. Free or Pro xupload version?
I gave solition for Pro one. You can PM me ftp access to xupload folder so I can fix it quickly.

drumcritic
Posts: 15
Joined: Apr 06, 2007 3:14 am

#11 Postby drumcritic » Apr 23, 2007 7:11 pm

it's free.

User avatar
PilgrimX182
Posts: 2186
Joined: Mar 22, 2006 1:39 pm

#12 Postby PilgrimX182 » Apr 24, 2007 5:22 am

Oh, ok then. Then replace old quick hack code in the same place to

Code: Select all

   open(FILE,">$c->{target_dir}/$fn.txt"); 
   print FILE $cg->param('comment'); 
   close FILE;
here I used text field with name="comment", you can use any name.

drumcritic
Posts: 15
Joined: Apr 06, 2007 3:14 am

#13 Postby drumcritic » Apr 24, 2007 9:05 pm

how would you print multiple fields into the text file all split with a comma? ex. "comment,name,emailaddress,etc."
thx a lot!

User avatar
PilgrimX182
Posts: 2186
Joined: Mar 22, 2006 1:39 pm

#14 Postby PilgrimX182 » Apr 25, 2007 5:25 am

Replace

Code: Select all

print FILE $cg->param('comment');
with

Code: Select all

print FILE join(',', map{$cg->param($_)} qw(comment name emailaddress) );

drumcritic
Posts: 15
Joined: Apr 06, 2007 3:14 am

#15 Postby drumcritic » Jun 05, 2007 1:59 pm

heh, sorry for reopening this thread

um, is it possible for me to enclose all fields in the text with quotation marks?

thanks!