Raid 5 or Raid 6?

Powerfull XFileSharing version

Moderator: admin

Message
Author
imagenow
Posts: 23
Joined: Feb 02, 2010 5:20 pm

Raid 5 or Raid 6?

#1 Postby imagenow » Oct 07, 2010 5:23 pm

I have the chance to start a file server with 7x1.5 Tb disks. The choice is between raid 5 or 6.

Upside: i7 Intel with 12 Gb ram - ngnix server - 1gb port
Downside: the raid is software, not hardware

any advice?

Thanks
Valerio

chrda
Posts: 296
Joined: Sep 14, 2009 7:16 pm
Contact:

#2 Postby chrda » Oct 07, 2010 10:22 pm

If you planning on using the full gigabit, then raid 10 is recommended

And Software raid is not recommended.
But some more money and get something solid instead of playing the cheap card.

If you dont do none of the above, the best solution is to have 7 single drives..

Raid 5 is means one disk can crash, raid 6 means 2 disk can crash.

Google it for more info

ankurs
Posts: 1054
Joined: Mar 10, 2009 2:34 am

Re: Raid 5 or Raid 6?

#3 Postby ankurs » Oct 08, 2010 4:52 am

imagenow wrote:I have the chance to start a file server with 7x1.5 Tb disks. The choice is between raid 5 or 6.

Upside: i7 Intel with 12 Gb ram - ngnix server - 1gb port
Downside: the raid is software, not hardware

any advice?

Thanks
Valerio

make that 8x1.5tb and then setup it in raid6 , will be much safer than raid5

want to use full 1gbit port ? then raid10, but still that wont guarantee you will be able to push

if you want more space, then raid6 or else go with raid10

imagenow
Posts: 23
Joined: Feb 02, 2010 5:20 pm

#4 Postby imagenow » Oct 08, 2010 11:41 am

It's not about cheap solutions, it's about an offer I had from a provider. They had this machine ready and unsold... They can provide me a RAID controller but will manage just 4 disks....

After reading some docs, I will go with 4 disks and hardware Raid 10....

what do you think?

ankurs
Posts: 1054
Joined: Mar 10, 2009 2:34 am

#5 Postby ankurs » Oct 08, 2010 11:56 am

imagenow wrote:It's not about cheap solutions, it's about an offer I had from a provider. They had this machine ready and unsold... They can provide me a RAID controller but will manage just 4 disks....

After reading some docs, I will go with 4 disks and hardware Raid 10....

what do you think?

yes raid10 if you go with 4 drives, you can have 2 raid arrays of 4 disk each

which provider if you don't mind to share

imagenow
Posts: 23
Joined: Feb 02, 2010 5:20 pm

#6 Postby imagenow » Oct 08, 2010 12:07 pm

I was considering Hetzner - with 1gb port I got 10Tb of traffic per month and each additional Tb is just 6.5 Euros.

Any other suggestion? I need that server to be in Europe and have a good network connection for european users.

Thanks

ankurs
Posts: 1054
Joined: Mar 10, 2009 2:34 am

#7 Postby ankurs » Oct 08, 2010 12:33 pm

imagenow wrote:I was considering Hetzner - with 1gb port I got 10Tb of traffic per month and each additional Tb is just 6.5 Euros.

Any other suggestion? I need that server to be in Europe and have a good network connection for european users.

Thanks

10tb = 30mbit , you dont need raid10 for such small bw amount.

100tb x 6.5 = 650 euro , too costly if you ask me; there are cheaper providers out there

check with rackedge or swiftway

imagenow
Posts: 23
Joined: Feb 02, 2010 5:20 pm

#8 Postby imagenow » Oct 09, 2010 5:56 pm

Hi, how did you get the 30mbit value?

ankurs
Posts: 1054
Joined: Mar 10, 2009 2:34 am

#9 Postby ankurs » Oct 10, 2010 9:23 am

imagenow wrote:Hi, how did you get the 30mbit value?


well its approx 30mbit, might be around 33mbit

100mbit = 30tb

i would suggest getting high bandwidth plan, 10tb is low if you have lot of files


Return to “XFileSharing Pro”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests