Upload Status works in Firefox, but not in Explorer 7

XUpload related questions

Moderator: admin

Message
Author
Wings_Of_Fire
Posts: 4
Joined: Feb 25, 2008 9:49 pm

Upload Status works in Firefox, but not in Explorer 7

#1 Postby Wings_Of_Fire » Feb 25, 2008 9:57 pm

I purchased Xupload pro 3.0, and it perfectly uploads any files I throw at it, but the upload status information stops working after a few seconds in Internet Explorer 7. It still completes the upload, but I won't be able to see the progress bar moving, and none of the other data like upload time left and upload speed are updated, they just freeze, and the graphics showing the upload speed just levels out.

Strangely enough, when I use Firefox as my browser, the upload status info updates just fine.

I bought Xupload pro 3.0, because I needed it for one of my clients who needs it to work properly in Internet Explorer.

Does anyone experience the same problem? Is this a bug, or is there a solution available to fix this?

Thanks for any insight in this matter.

User avatar
PilgrimX182
Posts: 2181
Joined: Mar 22, 2006 1:39 pm
Location: UFO Lab
Contact:

#2 Postby PilgrimX182 » Feb 26, 2008 6:47 am

That's cause IE7 caches ajax requests.
Here goes quick hack: in Templates/xstatus.js find

Code: Select all

if (window.XMLHttpRequest)

and add this line above:

Code: Select all

url = url+'&rnd='+Math.random();

azvisual
Posts: 34
Joined: May 23, 2007 9:05 pm

#3 Postby azvisual » Feb 28, 2008 5:37 pm

This problem persists in IE7. Using latest Xupload Pro 3 with above hack. Problem remains. At this point I have no success from IE7 users and obviously I have clients screaming bloody murder.

Anything else we can try to get this to work with IE7?

Thanks

Wings_Of_Fire
Posts: 4
Joined: Feb 25, 2008 9:49 pm

hack worked

#4 Postby Wings_Of_Fire » Feb 29, 2008 6:57 am

PilgrimX182, the hack you suggested worked perfectly for me.

Thanks a million!!

azvisual
Posts: 34
Joined: May 23, 2007 9:05 pm

#5 Postby azvisual » Feb 29, 2008 4:22 pm

I ask again, is there anything else I can do to get IE7 to work. The problem persists even with this hack. Every other browser works perfectly.

To Wings of Fire, how big of files are you uploading? This hack made things better, but it still stops on anything over 5 megs.

Thank for any suggestions. I'm dead in the water.

Wings_Of_Fire
Posts: 4
Joined: Feb 25, 2008 9:49 pm

IE7

#6 Postby Wings_Of_Fire » Feb 29, 2008 7:56 pm

Azvisual,
I'm uploading huge files, up to 500 MB a piece with IE7, without a glitch.

I run IE7 on Windows Vista Ultimate, but I tested IE7 on Windows XP too and it worked fine.

Mabye you could post some more specific info such as what OS and other software you are running and what your computer configuration is.

The hack suggested by Pilgrim had solved the problems I had. I'm wondering what could be the reason it's not working on your end. Sorry I couldn't be of any help.

azvisual
Posts: 34
Joined: May 23, 2007 9:05 pm

#7 Postby azvisual » Feb 29, 2008 9:02 pm

Thanks for getting me the info about the file size. I'm convinced it a cluster server issue. I'm changing to the 1and1.com host Pilgrim recommends, this weekend. Hopefully that will solve my issues.

Thanks again.

azvisual
Posts: 34
Joined: May 23, 2007 9:05 pm

#8 Postby azvisual » Mar 01, 2008 9:17 pm

I just wanted to follow up that it was indeed the host I was using and once I moved to a solid host (did not go with 1and1.com) IE7 worked. I only tested it through VMWare on my Mac and it was extremely jerky and about half the speed of any other browser, but it worked. Monday I'll test on a PC and see how that goes. Whew, I'm really glad this worked out. Got a bit tense for awhile in my shoes. ;)

Wings_Of_Fire
Posts: 4
Joined: Feb 25, 2008 9:49 pm

great!

#9 Postby Wings_Of_Fire » Mar 01, 2008 9:29 pm

Thanks for letting us know, Azvisual. I'm glad it all worked out well for you.

provisia
Posts: 4
Joined: Mar 03, 2008 12:40 am

vb7 progress

#10 Postby provisia » Mar 03, 2008 12:43 am

I see that the hack is already embedded in the xstatus.js file which I just installed (March 1 2008). Thank you for keeping your software up to date.

azvisual
Posts: 34
Joined: May 23, 2007 9:05 pm

#11 Postby azvisual » Mar 04, 2008 6:02 pm

And I just wanted to check back in, now that I've tested it on an actual PC.

All's well that "hopefully" ends well. Working perfectly.


Return to “XUpload”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests